RSS

USPS Website-A Good Design Example

06 Dec

Recently I want to mail some things to my parents. So I found USPS website and really love it! It is user-friendly and very helpful. I can find what I need effectively. A successful web site should be user-centric design and do not make users think.

Clear Navigation Menu

There are five navigation menus on the homepage-ship a package, send mail, manage your mail, shop and business solutions. They all have drop down menus which present more concrete information. On the left area of the page, a toolbar grabs my attention quickly. The four quick tools are most frequently used functions. This makes me think of our usability test for CGT website. If we test the USPS website, I am pretty sure that most participants have no problem with primary tasks on the website.

usps1

One page, one primary function

When I clicked one drop down menu such as schedule a pickup, the page is very simple instead of complex. All the information on the webpage is related to schedule a pickup. Apparently, I can achieve my goal in 1 minute and even don’t need to scroll the page. A perfect example for a user-friendly service! I feel unobtrusive and comforting.

Screen shot 2012-12-06 at 10.53.12 PM

The two points really make sense to me. I think that is why I feel comfortable because the website meets my expectations and lets me achieve my goal easily and efficiently.  However, I have a suggestion for the interface of the website. Customer service is critical to USPS.com. But the designers put this information on the upper area of the website and use small fonts to show that. Why not add a menu of customer service to the top menu so that user can find it quickly? By doing so, I feel a sense of belonging to USPS.

usps 3

 
2 Comments

Posted by on December 6, 2012 in Good/Bad Interface Design

 

Tags:

2 responses to “USPS Website-A Good Design Example

  1. jackskchang

    December 8, 2012 at 7:59 pm

    I like the “One page, one primary function” observation. This notion may go well with mobile apps, computer software, or, doing presentations.

     
    • cgt512chenguo

      December 9, 2012 at 10:28 am

      Sure! We should keep it in mind while designing

       

Leave a Reply

 
